Americanized-French Fries

I see your faces

Each of you, a book

Filled with pages

You are labeled as fantasy, fiction, and horror

But you are all so much more.

You want to be a Disney Princess,

A tattoo artist,

The world’s greatest violinist.

Then please, go be it,

Don’t let the world shackle you down,

Not allowing you to breathe,

Struggling to be found,

Let your mind know no bounds

But before you go,

Take a moment and look around,

Do you hear that silent sound?

It connects all of you,

Whether you like it or knot

Know that the road to happiness cannot be bought

Happiness is the getting there

And being aware that life isn’t fair

Bullies, goblins, and demons guard the way,

They’ll say,

What you love means nothing anyway.

Only truth knows that these are lies,

People shooting harpoons at those who want to fly.

So I ask you all to hold each other up,

Support one another in what you love.

Don’t diminish things you don’t understand,

Instead, fight fear with courage at the hand.

In half a decade you may be standing here,

Time will have taken you year by year,

But I can tell you I’ve fought off the fear,

And I’m in a place where I have nothing but love for all my peers,

Perhaps in half a decade I’ll see you here.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Adore this. I don’t have much to say except wow. Thank you for the thought that you put into this. It’s better than my pretend-end-of-the-semester-I-don’t-want-to-blog-poem. Awesome ideas. You presented them so well.

    Like

Leave a comment